More than 300 children's advocates gathered this week at Little America Hotel to "Celebrate Children" and the springtime of their lives.

The occasion, which marked the annual fund-raising dinner and silent auction of the Utah Chapter of the National Committee for Prevention of Child Abuse, highlighted 6,577 balloons - each of which represented a Utah victim of child abuse.Colleen Bangerter, committee honorary board chairman, and Barbara Layden, president, joined the gathering in honoring special award recipients for their commitment to Utah's children:

-Intermountain Health Care, for funding the committee's New Parent Handbook and the upcoming Abuse Hotline.

-KUTV-Channel 2, for enhancing public awareness through community service in providing the "Baby Your Baby" series on prenatal care.

-Dr. Don Kline, for a lifetime dedicated to prevention programs and his conception of the Children's Trust Fund.

-Marjan Martin, for her long history of dedication in supporting victims and families of abuse.

-Jay Taggart, for children's advocacy in abandoning corporal punishment in public schools.