Jerry C. Atkin, Bob Bailey, Ronald S. Eliason, Neal R. Krieps, Robert C. Steiner and C. Leland Strong have been named to the board of directors of Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Utah.

They replace T.J. Hartford Jr., Winston Fillmore, Robert A. Henrie, Randy Montgomery, G. Jerry Hayes, Carl Ramnitz and Alan L. Nye, whose terms expired in March.Named as corporation officers for 1989 were Fred Montmorency, chairman of the board; Kay S. Cornaby, vice chairman of the board; Jed H. Pitcher, president and chief executive officer; Michael E. Tobin, senior vice president and secretary; W.L. Houghton, treasurer; Francis Z. Leonard, vice president and assistant treasurer; and Dr. W. Knox Fitzpatrick, J. Reid Greenwood, Robert E. Johnston, Michael N. Mitchell, Neal A. Spero and Dennis R. Tierney, vice presidents.

Atkin is president and chief executive officer of SkyWest Inc. of St. George; Bailey is executive director of the Utah Ski Association and Ski Utah Inc.; and Eliason is senior vice president and chief financial officer of Novell Inc., Provo.

Krieps is director of human resources for Geneva Steel in Provo; Steiner is vice president for the Foreign Linen Division of the Steiner Corp.; and Strong is administrator of the Beaver Valley Hospital, Beaver.