Edward R. Murrow and Bill Cosby have been named by a TV Guide panel to the magazine's TV Hall of Fame for their lasting contributions to television.

The four-member panel, formed to honor broadcast and entertainment stars on television's 50th anniversary, gave Cosby and Murrow four votes each. Seven others also were voted in, the magazine said this week.They were: Lucille Ball, Milton Berle and Carroll O'Connor each with three votes; and Walter Cronkite, Barbara Walters, Howard Cosell and Ted Koppel each with two.

Others receiving one vote and listed as honorable mentions by the magazine, were Bishop Fulton J. Sheen; Dr. Martin Luther King; Joseph Welch, the lawyer who denounced Sen. Joseph McCarthy; Mike Wallace; Bill Moyers; Steve Allen; Bob Hope; James Garner; Dick Van Dyke; and Mary Tyler Moore.

Murrow was at the top of the list because he "still is the bench mark by which all broadcast journalists are measured," said panelist Fred Friendly, former CBS News president.

Cosby was honored because he "was able to get around being a black performer. He is looked upon as Cosby, and people are color-blind," said panelist Elton Rule, former president of ABC Inc.