Mitch Richmond of the Golden State Warriors, who averaged 22 points per game, today was named winner of the Eddie Gottlieb Trophy as the NBA Rookie of the Year.

Richmond, the Warriors' first-round draft choice from Kansas State and the fifth player selected overall in last June's draft, received 80 of 85 votes from a nationwide panel of sports writers and broadcasters.Willie Anderson of the San Antonio Spurs received four votes and Chris Morris of the New Jersey Nets drew one vote from the media panel, composed of three from each league city and 10 representatives of the national media.