The names of the 10 finalists in the 3rd annual Utah high school entrepreneur search have been released by Gov. Norm Bangerter.

They are Emily Backman, Dixie High School; Kyle Christensen, North Sanpete High School; Nathanael Cook, Orem High School; Eric Dickson, Logan High School; Curtis Doman, Bingham High School; Sam Francis, Judge Memorial High School; Bryan Lampropoulos, Olympus High School; Wallace Nez, Whitehorse High School; Clinton Robertson, Springville High School; and Paul Tew, Bountiful High School.These 10 students were selected from 48 school winners who were judged on their efforts to start and run their own successful business. Each will be honored May 12 during the Governor's Economic Development Conference in Little America.

At that time, a first prize of $10,000, second prize of $3,000 and third prize of $2,000 will be awarded. The money was donated by Seldon O. Young, president of NICE Corp., a Utah telemarketing company. The other seven finalists each will receive $500 donated by Metro Utah Inc.

A variety of businesses are represented by the 10 finalists. Backman operates a bed and breakfast inn; Christensen raises and markets livestock; Cook buys and sells rare books and documents; Dickson trades and sells baseball cards and accessories and Doman sells computer software and hardware.

Francis packages and delivers novelty candy, gifts, flowers and toys; Lampropoulos sells, leases and maintains and breeds tropical fish; Nez creates and sells Indian pottery; Robertson builds, sells and leases storage sheds and playhouses; and Tew owns and operates a graphic design shop.

The 38 students receiving honorable mention and their schools were Vic Bachman, Weber; Tyler Ruel Barker, Provo; Hope Ann Barnes, Jordan; Brett Braithwaite, Manti; Owen W. Bunker, Brighton; Mathew W. Butterfield, Bountiful; Ryan M. Carter, Hurricane; Troy Tony Christopulos, Bonneville.

Others are Chadler E. Cowles, Ryan J. Cowles and Shawn W. Donio, East; Rachel LaRee Driggs, Olympus; Curtis Lee Drollinger, Uintah; Ben Jon Dummar, Wasatch; Rebecca Evans, Pleasant Grove; Kelley Favero, Ben Lomond; John Franco, Murray; Whitney Ross Hammond, Olympus; Rebecca Hill, Layton; Jason G. Jenkins, Wasatch.

Also, Colton Shane Jorgensen, Dugway; Christopher D. Layton, Layton; George A. O'Camb, Millard; Jason Peterson, Manti; Brandon Clark Price, Highland; Gary N. Quarnberg, Green River; Mark Allen Relph, Provo; Todd Aaron Schmidt, Skyline; Timothy W. Smout, Ogden; Troy M. Stroud, Taylorsville; Judson B. Wall, Bountiful; and Jason T. Weatherhead, Granger.