Four Republicans, two of them incumbents, have announced they are candidates for the Legislature.

Former Rep. John Hollingshaus is seeking election to the District 30 seat he held for three terms - a seat currently held by Democrat Gene Davis.Hollingshaus said there is "an urgent need for a legislator who is experienced and understands the necessity of tax relief and spending limitation."

During his House tenure, Hollingshaus voted for numerous tax-limitation measures, as well as tax relief for the elderly. There was no general tax increase in any of the six years he served in the House, he said.

"There is a great need to expand the tax base in the state and to promote economic growth and development to provide employment opportunities for our citizens," he said.

District 30 includes most of Sugar House.

Rep. Afton B. Bradshaw is seeking re-election to the District 28 seat she has held for two terms.

"The issues facing us in this next legislative session are as difficult as any of the challenges we have faced in the past," she said. "We must build a more healthy economy; we must correct the flawed state income tax, including restoration of the deduction for federal taxes; we must provide good education for our extremely large student population, and equip our young people to compete in today's world; and we need increased efficiency and decreased size in the state budget."

Bradshaw is vice-chairman of the State and Local Affairs Committee, and is a member of the Education Standing Committee and the Community and Economic Development Appropriations Committee.

She is active in community affairs, serves on various advisory boards and holds a master's degree from the University of Utah.

District 28 includes the Foothill Village area and part of Sugar House.

Transportation expert Otis E. Winn has announced his candidacy for the open Senate seat vacated by retiring Republican Sen. Jack Bangerter of Bountiful. Bangerter is endorsing Winn's candidacy.

"The changing times in Utah, and within our own district, call for further examination, reforms and development in education, jobs and performance of all levels of government," he said. "This is a conservative district and with my election we will have conservative representation."

Winn, a Republican, moved to the Bountiful area 17 years ago after retiring from the U.S. Air Force, where he rose to the rank of brigadier general. Three times he was presented the Legion of Merit, the nation's second highest award for meritorious service.

The District 23 Senate seat includes Bountiful, North Salt Lake, Woods Cross and adjacent unincorporated areas.

First-term Rep. Michael G. Waddoups, R-Salt Lake, is seeking re-election to a second House term.

"Tax limitation and improved efficiency in government are necessary if Utah is to enhance its educational programs and meet the challenges of the approaching decade," Waddoups said.

Waddoups serves on the Transportation and Health committees, as well as the Community and Economic Development Appropriations Committee.

Waddoups is a strong supporter of economic development and long-range planning.

The District 47 seat includes much of the Taylorsville-Bennion area.