The Utah Travel Council has inducted five new members into the Tourism Hall of Fame for making significant contributions to the state's tourism industry, spokesman Joe Rutherford says.

The inductees include Southern Utah State College President Gerald Sherratt, Bullfrog Resort and Marina co-founder Zeke Dumke Jr., former Flaming Gorge Lodge operator Dwight Wetenkamp and Bradley Smith, director of Foremost West, a Salt Lake City organization that promotes mountain states tourism in overseas markets.Honored posthumously was Vail Hatt, one of the driving forces behind the John Wesley Powell River History Museum, now under construction in the eastern Utah town of Green River, Rutherford said.

Dumke served on the Utah Hotel-Motel Association's board of directors and was chairman of the Salt Lake Chamber of Commerce's tourism committee for five years, he said.

Sherratt was the founder and author of "The Festival of the American West" in Logan and was involved in establishing the Utah Summer Games, the Highland Heritage Festival and the Utah Shakespearean Festival's Center for the Performing Arts.

He said Smith, former chairman of the National Council of Area and Regional Travel Organizations, has served on the Travel Industry Association of America's international committee and the U.S. Travel Data Center's board of trustees.

For 14 years, Wetenkamp was executive director of the Dinosaurland Travel Board and the Vernal Area Chamber of Commerce. Hatt was a charter member of the Castle Country Travel Council and the Grand County Travel Council.