Dave Schulthess, BYU's longtime sports information director, received the Dale Rex Memorial Award at Wednesday's Cougar Club banquet.

The award is given annual to an individual who has contributed greatly to amateur athletics in the state of Utah. Previous winners include former BYU athletes Steve Young, Danny Ainge and Johnny Miller; Cougar coaches LaVell Edwards and Karl Tucker, and others outside the university setting, such as University of Utah gymnastics coach Greg Marsden, Utah State football standout Merlin Olsen and LDS President David O. McKay.Retiring after nearly four decades at BYU, Schulthess is a former president of the College Sports Information Directors of American (CoSIDA) and is a member of its Hall of Fame.

Other individual honors given to BYU athletes included: Competitor Awards - Fred Whittingham, football, and Noeleen Mullan, track and cross country; Crowd-Pleaser Awards - Marty Haws, basketball, and Karina Zapata, basketball; Kimball Memorial Award (scholarship) - Lori Cragun Brady, gymnastics; Cougar Club Memorial Award - Andy Toolson, basketball; Outstanding Senior Female Athlete - Dylann Duncan, volleyball; Ed Stein Award (Outstanding Senior Male) - Michael Smith, basketball; Dale R. McCann Team Spirit Awards - Rodney Rice, football, and Michelle Taylor, tennis.

Also honored were four athletes earning Academic All-American honors this year - Smith; Duncan; Chuck Cutler, football; and Tim Clark, football. Smith and Duncan earned their third such recognition, while Cutler is a two-time honoree.