Fourteen American contemporary composers are to receive this year's music awards from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters.

The awards, with a total of $80,000 in prize money, will be presented in New York City May 17, in recognition of "outstanding achievement in the field of serious contemporary American music."Among winners are Lori E. Dobbins of Albany, Calif., and Steven Mackey of Plainsboro, N.J., each with a Goddard Lieberson Fellowship of $10,000; and Susan Harding of Hamden, Conn., with a $10,000 Charles Ives Fellowship.