A number of attorneys, judges, committees and others have been honored for distinguished service to the legal profession by the Utah State Bar.

Recipients, recognized at the bar's 65th annual meeting, were selected on the basis of achievement, professional service to clients, the public, courts and the bar.Those recognized and honor conferred:

The Honorable J. Thomas Greene, Judge of Year. He was appointed to the U.S. District Court in 1985 following a 30-year legal career with the Salt Lake firm of Greene, Callister & Nebeker. He was president of the state bar and Utah Bar Foundation and member of the Board of Governors, American Bar Association. He received his juris doctor from the University of Utah College of Law.

Gordon L. Roberts, Distinguished Lawyer of the Year. Roberts, who is a shareholder in the Salt Lake law firm of Parsons Behle & Latimer, was president of the Salt Lake County Bar and a Utah State Bar commissioner. Roberts was named Utah 1991 Trial Lawyer of the Year by the American Board of Trial Advocates, is a fellow in the American College of Trial Lawyers and received his juris doctor from the U. College of Law.

The Honorable Kimberly K. Hornak, Distinguished Young Lawyer of the Year. She was appointed to the Third District Juvenile Court in 1994 and serves in Salt Lake, Summit and Tooele counties. Previously, she was a deputy Salt Lake County attorney and was a staff attorney with Utah Legal Services and the Legal Aid Society. Hornak received her law degree from Gonzaga University College of Law.

Delivery of Legal Services Committee, with Keith A. Kelly, chairman, Distinguished Committee Award. The committee was honored for the promotion of pro bono legal services, for a creating a Domestic Violence Clinic for Salt Lake County to provide representation for pro se (those representing themselves) litigants seeking protective orders. Kelly is a shareholder in the Salt Lake firm of Ray, Quinney & Nebeker.

Litigation Section, Ross C. Anderson, chairman, Distinguished Section Award. The section sponsored a seminar to enhance skills of its members and developed a reduced-fee program for individuals who required but could not afford the cost of litigation sevices. Also, the section produced a new publication, "Voir Dire," and is updating Model Utah Jury instructions. Anderson is a shareholder in the Salt Lake firm of Anderson & Kar-ren-berg.

Vinh K. Ly, Distinguished Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year. A deputy Weber County attorney, he was honored for providing many hours of volunteer work for the Catholic Community Immigration Network, Utah Legal Services, Legal Aid Society of Salt Lake City, Layton City and indigent individuals. He received his law degree from J. Reuben Clark Law School at Brigham Young University.

Robert D. Merrill, Distinguished Lawyer Posthumous Award. Merrill was honored for a distinguished career as a member of the Salt Lake firm of Van Cott, Bagley, Cornwall & McCarthy, practicing in bankruptcy law. He was a member of the Better Business Bureau Board, past president of Utah Legal Services and chairman of the Utah State Board of Mandatory Continuing Legal Education.

James E. Faust, Distinguished Lawyer Emeritus Award. Second counselor in the First Presidency, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, President Faust received his juris doctor from the U. College of Law. He was a state legislator and served as president of the state bar. He was a member of the Utah State Constitutional Revision Commission and is chairman of the executive committee, Deseret News Publishing Co.

The Honorable William A. Thorne Jr., who was presented the Advancement of Minorities in the Law Award. Thorne was appointed to Third District Court in 1994 and previously served on the Third Circuit Court. He was chairman of the Utah Juvenile Justice Task Force of the Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice and chairman of the Bail Bonding Committee. He is president of the National Indian Justice Center and holds various Tribal Court assignments. He received his juris doctor from Stanford Law School.

The Honorable Christine M. Durham, Advancement of Women in the Law Award. She was appointed to the Utah Supreme Court in 1982 and previously served on the Third District Court. Durham is a member of the Judicial Council, the Board of Directors of the National Center for State Courts and the Council of American Law Institute. She is past president of the National Association of Women Judges, is a trustee of Duke University, where she received her law degree, and was recognized at the bar's midyear meeting.

Carman E. Kipp, who was honored as Utah Trial Lawyer of the Year, an award presented by the American Board of Trial Advocates. Kipp is a senior partner in the Salt Lake firm of Kipp and Christian, a private corporation. He was president of the Utah chapter, American Board of Trial Advocates; president of the Utah State Bar and chairman of the Judicial Conduct Commission. He received his juris doctor from the U. College of Law.