Joan Woodbury, co-artistic director of the Ririe-Woodbury Dance Company, is the recipient of the third annual Richard D. Bass Award, for her outstanding achievements and significant contributions in the field of dance.

The award is presented annually to a Utahn who has significantly furthered progress in his or her field of endeavor, in an inspirational and meaningful manner.The award originated in 1986 when Bass, owner of Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort, was recognized by the State of Utah for being the first person to climb the highest peak on each of the seven continents, and the oldest, at 55, to climb Mt. Everest. In appreciation, Bass and the Snowbird Institute for the Arts and Humanities in 1987 established the annual Bass Award, which will be given in different fields of accomplishment from year to year.

Joan Woodbury was born in Cedar City, and graduated from the University of Wisconsin. She also studied with Mary Wigman at the Freie Universitate in Berlin, on the first Fulbright scholarship ever awarded in dance. She has taught modern dance at the U. of U. since 1951, and has taught more than 100 workshops and master classes in the U.S. and around the world. Her more than 60 choreographies include works for Ririe-Woodbury and other nationally recognized companies.

Woodbury's many awards include Outstanding Dance Educator. She has served as a consultant to and on the advisory committee of the Artists in Education dance component, NEA, and is currently a dance panelist for that program.

Woodbury will receive a $5,000 cash fellowship from Richard Bass at a special ceremony in her honor on April 28, to commemorate Bass's Mt. Everest summit day.

-MEZZO-SOPRANO Julie Reynolds of Salt Lake City received the 1989 Artist Award, in an audition held on April 8 by the Utah chapters, National Association for Teachers of Singing, at the Harris Fine Arts Center on the BYU campus in Provo. Reynolds now will advance to the Cal-West regional finals, to be held in Los Angelese on April 30.

The 1989 Utah NATS young artist competition, held biennially, was organized by Ewan Mitton, NATS governor for Utah.