Jim Campbell, a Timpview High School art teacher, has been elected to serve two years as president of the Utah Education Association.

He was named to the office 10 months ago to complete the unexpired term of Betty Condie. He is a former president of the Provo Education Association and was UEA vice president for three years.Elected vice president of the state organization was Beth Beck, a teacher in Millcreek Junior High School, Bountiful, and president of the Davis Education Association.

Nine teachers were named to the UEA board of directors. They are Paula Trewartha, Vineyard Elementary, Orem; Margaret Copeland, Southeast Elementary, Moab; Dallas E. Murray, Myton Elementary; Sid Carpenter, Oakdale Elementary, Sandy; L. Ridd Grover, Box Elder High School, Brigham City; Marilyn Grondel, Farr West Elementary, Ogden; Thelma Whittaker, Piute High School, Junction; Kay Lee Schatten, Longview Elementary, Murray; and Malo Taosoga, Central High, Salt Lake City.

LaWanna Shurtliff, Ogden High School, was elected delegate-at-large to the National Education Association Representative Assembly.