Arizona's Sean Elliott, the only repeat All-American this season, was named Associated Press college basketball player of the year today.

Elliott, a senior forward and the all-time leading scorer in Pacific-10 history, received the Rupp Trophy from the Commonwealth Athletic Club of Kentucky.The 6-foot-8 forward received 288 of 879 votes in the nationwide balloting of sports writers and broadcasters conducted before the NCAA tournament.

Danny Ferry, who led Duke to its third Final Four in four years, was second with 208 votes, followed by Louisiana State freshman Chris Jackson with 120, Oklahoma's Stacey King with 96 and Syracuse's Sherman Douglas with 53.

Ferry improved one position from last year's voting, while Elliott jumped from sixth to first. Jackson's finish was the highest ever by a freshman.

Elliott averaged 22.3 points, 7.2 rebounds and 4.1 assists and was the man the top-ranked Wildcats went to throughout the season as they attempted to repeat last year's Final Four appearance. The Wildcats, 29-4, were eliminated in the third round by Nevada-Las Vegas.

Elliott passed UCLA's Lew Alcindor, now Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, as the Pac-10's all-time leading scorer, although Elliott benefited from more games, courtesy of freshman eligibility and conference expansion from eight teams. Arizona went 105-28 in Elliott's four years.

The Tucson, Ariz., native finished with 2,555 points, surpassing Alcindor's mark of 2,325, which stood since 1969.

When Elliott was selected for the All-America team, he became the 51st player to repeat with the honor.