Bob Knight, whose Indiana team looked at one point this year on its way to his worst season at the school, was named Associated Press college basketball coach of the year today.

Knight's team was 3-4 this season and had allowed more than 100 points in three of the losses - two more times than his Indiana teams had in his previous 17 years.He changed to a three-guard offense, and the Hoosiers won 24 of their last 28 to finish 27-8, won a record 10th Big Ten championship and earned Knight his third AP coach of the year award, second only to John Wooden's five at UCLA.

Knight received 4451/2 of 878 votes in a nationwide poll of sports writers and broadcasters conducted before the NCAA tournament.

P.J. Carlesimo, whose Seton Hall team eliminated Indiana in the West Regional semifinals on the way to a Final Four berth, was second with 107 votes, followed by Lute Olson of Arizona with 84, Dale Brown of Louisiana State with 62 and Rick Majerus of Ball State with 46.

Knight won the award in 1975 and 1976, the latter the last undefeated team to win the national championship and the first of his three NCAA champions.

With only one returning starter, Knight's 1988-89 team was tabbed for a second-division finish in the conference, and the start of the season did not bode well. Instead, the Hoosiers wound up winning the conference early enough for Knight to rest four of his starters in the final regular-season game to prepare for the NCAA tournament.