Eight new members of the board of governors of the Salt Lake Area Chamber of Commerce were elected Tuesday to serve three-year terms beginning July 1, according to Wm. James Mortimer, board chairman and publisher of the Deseret News.

The election came during the board's bi-monthly breakfast meeting in the Red Lion Hotel during which the Russian inspectors for the INF treaty spoke.The new board members are Joseph A. Cannon, chairman of the board, chief executive officer and president of Geneva Steel; R. Don Cash, chairman of the board, president and chief executive officer of Questar Corp.; Larry H. Miller, owner of the Utah Jazz and owner of 16 automobile dealerships in four states; and Jacqueline A. Nicholes, owner of Quality Press.

Others are Anthony L. Rampton, shareholder and director of the law firm of Fabian and Clendenin; Fred H. Rollins III, district marketing director for Delta Air Lines Inc.; Dr. Cecil O. Samuelson, vice president of health sciences at the University of Utah; and Dale O. Zabriskie, president and principal owner of the public relations firm of Zabriskie & Associates.

Completing their terms on June 30 besides Mortimer will be Robert Fotheringham, Fotheringham & Associates; Leon G. Harmon, First Interstate Bank; Stephen Nebeker, the law firm of Ray, Quinney and Ne-beker; Rhoda Ramsey, The Ramsey Group; Verl R. Topham, Utah Power & Light Co.; I.J. Wagner, Wagner Corp.; and Thomas Welch, Smith's Management Corp.

Cannon and his brother reopened Geneva Steel after it was shut down for several months. He obtained a law degree from Brigham Young University and is a member of the U.S. WEST Utah state executive board, the Utah Foundation board of directors and the American Iron and Steel Institute board of directors.

Cash was president and chief executive officer of Mountain Fuel Supply Co. before being named president of Questar on Oct. 2, 1984, following a major company reorganization. Mountain Fuel is a subsidiary of Questar. Cash became Questar's chairman of the board May 14, 1985.

Miller acquired 50 percent of the Jazz basketball team in April 1985 and became the sole owner in June 1986. The Salt Lake native began his career in automobile dealerships in 1963 and has lived and worked in Utah and Colorado but returned to Salt Lake City in 1979.

Nicholes began her career in the printing business in 1979 when her husband died. A University of Utah graduate, Nicholes is a past president of the Printing Industries of Utah, a member of Utah Women Business Owners, a member of the Private Industry Council and in 1984 was named small business person of the year in Utah by the Small Business Administration.

Rampton is a member of the Utah State Bar and since 1983 has been a member of that organization's executive committee and litigation section. He is a member of the Utah Arts Council board of directors and a member of the Western States Arts Foundation board of trustees.

At Delta, Rollins is responsible for public relations, civic and media affairs and overseeing Delta's marketing efforts in Utah and parts of Wyoming, Idaho and Nevada. He is a member of the executive board of the Salt Lake Convention and Visitors Bureau and a member of the Utah Economic Development Corp. board of trustees.

Samuelson has been health sciences vice president since May 1988 and prior to that was dean of the university's School of Medicine. He has held several positions at the U. and serves on the Federal Council on Graduate Medicine Education in addition to serving as the council's Medical Education Finance Committee chairman.

Zabriskie opened his public relations company in 1982 after serving as manager of corporate communications for Mountain Fuel Supply Co. Besides being a member of the State Board of Regents, he is a member of the Utah Symphony board of directors and is chairman of Business Week, a training program for Utah high school students sponsored by the Salt Lake Area Chamber of Commerce.

Joseph A. Cannon

R. Don Cash

Larry H. Miller

Jacqueline A. Nicholes

Anthony L. Rampton

Fred H. Rollins III

Cecil O. Samuelson

Dale O. Zabriskie