Utah dairymen interested in being on the ballots for election to the Utah Dairy Commission are asked to submit petitions with the names of 15 or more dairymen from their district to the Utah Department of Agriculture by April 15.

State law requires that elections be held every three years in each of the 11 districts in Utah. Those districts up for election in 1989 include District 5, Weber and Morgan counties; District 8, Summit, Wasatch, Uintah, Duchesne and Daggett counties; and District 11, Piute, Sevier, Wayne, Garfield and Kane counties.Qualifications to serve on the commission include being a U.S. citizen, over age 25, an active milk producer with five consecutive years experience in milk production within Utah immediately preceding election and a resident of Utah and the district represented.

The Utah Dairy Commission was established by the Utah Legislature in 1971 to promote, protect and stabilize the state's dairy industry. Incumbents currently on the commission in the districts up for election are Harry Papageorge, Ogden; Michael Kohler, Midway; and Paul Morgan, Circleville.