Finalists in the Deseret News-KSL Sterling Scholar Awards program selected Wednesday in regional competition along the Wasatch Front now begin preparations for the final round of judging April 5.

The competition is the flagship of a set of awards programs around Utah. The sponsors, in cooperation with the State Office of Education, present the program and sanction four others serving districts in northeastern, central, southwestern and southeastern Utah.The 180 Wasatch Front finalists, 15 in each of 12 categories - five from each region - were chosen at Ogden High School from north region schools, Skyline in the central region, and Timp-view High School for the south region.

But for one high school, it was touch-and-go to arrive at the judging site for their scheduled appointment.

Mountain Crest nominees, along with school coordinator Brent McMillan, were stalled in Sardine Canyon as a result of mechanical problems with one of the district's buses. After turning around for a trip back to school for a new bus, they discovered another bus parked at a driver's home in the south end of the district. They quickly swapped buses and continued their trip to Ogden.

The judges waited patiently for the nominees to arrive for their personal interviews nearly a half-hour late.

Judges included high school teachers from other regions and faculty members from area colleges and universities.

Many of the judges worked late into the evening to select finalists after a long day of reviewing portfolios and conducting individual interviews.

All finalists meet at Skyline High School on April 5 for final judging at which time three judges in each category will select a winner and two runners-up.

All finalists will be honored April 12 during an awards ceremony that will be televised live on KSL-TV, Channel 5, at 7 p.m.

During the program, winners and runners-up will be disclosed for the first time in each category.. The top students will be able to select a year's scholarship at the college or university of their choice in Utah or Ricks College in Idaho.

The following are finalists in the 1989 Deseret News-KSL Sterling Scholar Awards program:

North Region

English - Julie Bannister, Clearfield; Michelle Blaisdell, Ben Lomond; Hillary Huefner, Bountiful; Wendy Parker, Davis; and Chalyce Petersen, Logan.

Speech/Drama - Jennifer Carver, Layton; Christina Jepson, Davis; Melinda Roylance, Bountiful; Greg Watts, Logan; and Angela Williams, Clearfield.

Mathematics - Matt Christensen, Bonneville; Russell Hansen, Davis; Susan Parkin, Bountiful; Heidi Peterson, Sky View; and Lorianne Walker, Weber.

Social Science - Rachel Mabey, Bountiful; Jennifer Obray, Mountain Crest; Angela Thomson, Logan; Lisa Trottier, Ogden; and T. Jeff Wilks, Box Elder.

Science - Jenny Heers, Mountain Crest; Clayton Killpack, Ogden; Paul Lei, Logan; Ross Richey, Weber; and Kelly A. Shepard, Roy.

Foreign Language - Wendy Ashby, Roy; Bryon Bowers, Davis; Nasy Inthisone, Logan; Anita Natesh, Viewmont; and Carrie Schriever, Bountiful.

Visual Arts - Michele Milligan, Sky View; Jared Sanders, Davis; David Stevenson, Weber; Bee A. Thao, Layton; and Tiffany Twitchell, Viewmont.

Industrial Education - Marchelle Anderson, Bear River; Aimee Auernig, Bountiful; Lisa Marie Barnes, Clearfield; Shane T. Gonzales, Roy; and Jerin Lawson, Sky View.

Home Economics - Kristiann Barlow, Bountiful; Christy Calvin, Davis; Mindy Marchant, Bonneville; Kara Jan Polson, Weber; and Janalee Sanders, Ogden.

Business Education - Gina Ballard, Roy; Jeffert D. Deakin, Box Elder; Michelle Eschler, Bountiful; Jeffrey Painter, Clearfield; and Heather Wheelwright, Bonneville.

Music - Roger L. Dorius, Davis; Kari Hagan, Ogden; Karin Hendricks, Logan; Marc Metcalf, Bountiful; and Debra Wesemann, Viewmont.

General Scholarship - Ashley Adrianna Aikens, Bonnville; Jedd M. Fowers, Davis; Nancy Francis, Box Elder; Benjamin K. Henderson, Layton; and Ryan R. Stratford, Ogden.

Central Regions

English - Emily Bedard, Highland; Ai Sung Dinh, West; Tracy Grikscheit, East; Jennifer Gully, Skyline; and Jane Sullivan, Cottonwood.

Speech/Drama - Trevor Black, East; Judy Cook, Murray; Emilie deAzevedo, Cottonwood; Julie Guymon, Brighton; and Lee Wright, Woods Cross.

Mathematics - Mike Ailion, Skyline; Michael Kim, East; Laura E. Linton, Kearns; Travis E. Oliphant, Taylorsville; and Adam Wilcox, Highland.

Social Science - Louise Abdulla, Cottonwood; Kyle J. Betit, East; Ratha Panh, Granger, Michele Quinn, Olympus; and Christopher Williams, Highland.

Science - Tony (My) Ho, Granger; Marvin Jones, East; Thouis Ray Jones, Olympus; Paul Minson, Brighton; and Staci Neilson, West.

Foreign Language - Donna Alison Bartley, Olympus; DeLaina Cales, Granger; Amy M. Harward, Brighton; Brad Stoker, East; and Kimberly Tull, Taylorsville.

Visual Arts - Nathan Durrant, Highland; Robert Finlinson, Skyline; Kendra Schiffman, Brighton; Sharlene Siddoway, Woods Cross; and Alicia Wolter, Olympus.

Industrial Education - Bryan Baggaley, Brighton; Donald Dunn, West; Brandon Lundeen, Murray; Steven Rose, Taylorsville; and Reed Stewart, Olympus.

Home Economics - Christine Fallows, Cyprus; Sherri Lambert, Brighton; Darby McDonough, East; Moani Rolfson, Highland; and Heather Welty, Woods Cross.

Business Education - Trent Beal, Taylorsville; Kelly Clark, East; Ryan Leonard, Murray; Melssa Miller, Granite; and Danna Redmond, Woods Cross.

Music - Kimberley K. Call, Murray; Anna Eyring, Olympus; Rebecca McMullin, Skyline; Lance Rick, Woods Cross; and Sidnee-Marie Spencer, Cottonwood.

General Scholarship - Jeffrey L. Jensen, Cyprus; Jessica Ann Jones, East; Melinda Larsen, Cottonwood; Ann Waller, Murray; and Dean Wheeler, Granger.

South Regions

English - Maria Chambers, Provo; Kimberly Chow, Hillcrest; Kristin Hacken, Orem; Kimberly Johnson, West Jordan; and Tierny Smith, Timpview.

Speech/Drama - Philip H. Jensen, American Fork; David Monson, Provo; Suzanne Payne, Alta; Allen Thornell, Hillcrest; and Christopher Wixom, Mountain View.

Mathematics - Brent Bellm, West Jordan; Jay J. Han, Jordan; John Jorgensen, Alta; Scott D. Robertson, Mountain View; and Richard D. Strong, Timpview.

Social Science - Patrick Cannon, Orem; Brandon Johnson, American Fork; Jeremy Madsen, Jordan; Jenifer Montaque, Hillcrest; and Michael Nelson, Lehi.

Science - Michael Ashby, Orem; Lisa A. Jensen, Hillcrest; Chris Jones, Alta; Craig D. Maloney, Pleasant Grove; and Daniel D. Ririe, Provo.

Foreign Language - Cara Lee Bradford, Springville; Jennifer Brown, Timpview; Tammy Chau, Alta; Christopher Dennis, Provo; and J. Daniel Rasband, Orem.

Visual Arts - Bradley Chidester, Alta; Matt Doyle, Jordan, Andrea Jackman, Timpview; Jeffrey Martin, Hillcrest; and Margaret Slingerland, Provo.

Industrial Education - Andrea Allen, Lehi; David L. Martin, Timpview; Gary Norton, American Fork; Joycelyn Sheppick, Hillcrest; and Kathy Spencer, Payson.

Home Economics - Tiffany Barker, Provo; Melissa Mason, Timpview; Tera Stroud, Hillcrest; Heather Tippetts, Alta; and Colleen Weeks, Mountain View.

Business Education - Tamara Davis, Payson; Heidi Hubrich, Alta; Julie Ann Roberts, Timpview; Rocio Soto, Jordan; and Andr'e R. St. Pierre, American Fork.

Music - Catherine Ann Gale, Hillcrest; Juliet Gamero, Alta; Emily Gay Jacob, Mountain View; Lisa Ann Rhodes, American Fork; and Annette Tenny, West Jordan.

General Scholarship - Randall J. Roper, American Fork; Braden Rowley, Alta; Brooke VanAusdal, Spanish Fork; Chris Walton, Orem; and Amy Worlton, Lehi.