When the sponsors of the Deseret News-KSL Sterling Scholar Awards launched the program in 1962, other schools wanted to be a part of it. But the distance involved and the number of schools made it impossible.

Therefore, educators and civic leaders in four other regions established their own programs while following the guidelines of that along the Wasatch Front. In many cases, the directors remain the same each year while others take turns in serving as director.The following are "satellite" programs throughout the state, their director, participating high schools and the date of their awards ceremony:

Central Utah - Mr. and Mrs. Mark Anderson, Ephraim, directors; Delta, Gunnison, Juab, Manti, Millard, North Sanpete, North Sevier, Richfield, South Sevier, Tintic, Wasatch Academy and Wayne. Awards ceremony April 3 at Manti High.

Southwest Utah - Carma Green and Willard Bass, Southwest Educational Development Center, directors; Beaver, Bryce Valley, Cedar City, Dixie, Enterprise, Escalante, Hurricane, Kanab, Milford, Panguitch, Parawon, Pine Valley and Fredonia. Awards ceremony April 6 at Southern Utah State College.

Northeast Utah - Linda Morrison, Morgan High, director; Altamont, Duchesne, Dugway, Manilla, Morgan, North Summit, Park City, Rich, South Summit, Tabiona, Grantsville, Union, Wasatch and Wendover. Awards ceremony April 25 at Morgan High.

Southeast Utah - Norma Fausett, East Carbon High, director; Emery, Carbon, East Carbon, Grand County, Monticello, San Juan, Whitehorse and Monument Valley. Awards ceremony March 22 at College of Eastern Utah.