The Utah State Bar announced seven awards for distinguished service by individuals, sections and committees at a mid-year meeting Saturday.

Recipients were selected on the basis of achievement; professional service to clients, the public, courts, and the bar; and exemplification of the highest standards of professionalism.Awards and recipients included:

- Distinguished Lawyer Emeritus Award: D. Ray Owen Jr., long-time editor-in-chief of the Utah Bar Journal, who was recognized for his generosity in giving his extensive law library to the Utah Law and Justice Center.

- Distinguished Lawyer in Public Service Award: K.S. Cornaby, a state senator and member of the Salt Lake law firm of Jones, Waldo, Holbrook & McDonough.

- Distinguished Non-Lawyer Award for Service to the Bar: Robert L. Stayner, a certified public accountant who has served the legal profession as a director of Legal Aid Society from 1978-84.

- Distinguished Lawyer Posthumous Award: Albert J. Colton, who was director and president of the Salt Lake firm of Fabian & Clendenin. He was also Canon Chancellor at St. Mark's Cathedral and chancellor of the Episcopal Diocese of Utah.

- Distinguished Section Award: Young Lawyers Section, which has conducted many law-related public service projects including Law School for non-lawyers. Accepting the award on behalf of the Young Lawyers was Jerry D. Fenn, section chairman.

-Distinguished Committee Award: Bar Journal Committee, which designs and publishes the new Utah Bar Journal. The award was accepted by Calvin E. Thorpe, chairman of the Bar Journal Committee.

- Special Award for Distinguished Committee in Extraordinary and Historical achievement: Post Law School Practical Training Committee, which developed and implemented a pilot apprenticeship program and expanded the Bridge the Gap program and is currently being considered for adoption by the Utah Supreme Court. The program is under the direction of the Hon. J. Thomas Greene, U.S. District Court for Utah, who accepted the award.