For the second year in a row, Weber State center Rico Washington was a unanimous selection to the All-Big Sky first team.

A Philadelphia native, Washington led the Big Sky in rebounding for the second straight season with 10 a game. He also was second in the conference in scoring with 22.1 points per game.Boise State senior guard Chris Childs, who has been named to the Big Sky Conference's first basketball team for the third straight year, has also been honored as the league's most valuable player.

Childs is the ninth player in the 26-year history of the Big Sky to be named three times to the first-team.

Raymond Brown, a senior forward from the University of Idaho, was also a repeater on the first team.

Rounding out the first-team was Nevada-Reno senior guard Darryl Owens, who was a second team member last season; Idaho junior forward Riley Smith, who also earned the Big Sky's top newcomer award; and Boise State senior forward Wilson Foster.

The second team included Montana center Wayne Tinkle, Montana State center Mike Fellows, Eastern Washington forward David Peed, Idaho forward James Fitch and Idaho State forward Steven Garrity.

Montana center Daren Engellant was named outstanding freshman by the coaches in their annual voting. Also receiving votes were Nevada-Reno's Kevin Soares, Idaho State's Scott Roberts and Northern Arizona's Steve Williams.

Also receiving votes for outstanding player award were Brown, Owens and Washington.

Weber State's Katie Weyenberg was selected to the All-Big Sky first team.

Chosen as most valuable player was Montana's Lisa McLeod, who led the Grizzlies to the league title. Also selected to the Big Sky first team were Montana State senior guard Liz Holz, Idaho senior forward Christy VanPelt and Montana junior forward Jean McNulty.

Weber's Melanie Knott and Dawn Lawler were honorable mentions.