Arizona and Georgetown won their way into No. 1 regional seeds for the upcoming NCAA basketball tournament. Oklahoma lost its way into one.

The NCAA announced its 64-team field Sunday while Arizona was still in the process of hammering Stanford 73-51 in the championship game of the Pacific-10 tournament. Georgetown overpowered Syracuse 88-79 for the Big East title and while Oklahoma bowed to Missouri 98-86 in the Big Eight final.Arizona was seeded No. 1 in the West Regional, Georgetown in the East and Oklahoma, despite its defeat, in the Southeast. Illinois, the No. 1 seed in the Midwest, wound up its regular season Saturday by trouncing Michigan 89-73.

Other teams that nailed down automatic NCAA berths by capturing conference tournaments Sunday included North Carolina in the Atlantic Coast, Louisville in the Metro, Ball State in the Mid-American, Alabama in the Southeastern, Arkansas in the Southwest and Southern University in the Southwestern Athletic.


Arizona 73, Stanford 51

Sean Elliott scored 16 of his 21 points in the first half as Arizona took command early. The Wildcats went ahead for good after less than six minutes and led 43-27 at halftime although Stanford made 11 of its 15 shots. But the Cardinal had as many turnovers as shot attempts and finished with 23 giveaways. In addition, Todd Lichti, Stanford's leading scorer with a 20.6-point average, was held to 11.

Big East

Georgetown 88, Syracuse 79

Freshman Alonzo Mourning scored 21 points as Georgetown won its sixth title in the Big East's 10-year history. The Hoyas controlled the game throughout the second half after using an 8-0 run to take a 58-45 lead with 11:50 to play. Theyled by as many as 23.

Big Eight

Missouri 98, Oklahoma 86

Byron Irvin scored 29 points, Doug Smith had 22 points and 14 rebounds, Gary Leonard had 16 points and Lee Coward 15 as Missouri dominated from the start and tied a school record with its 27th victory.

Oklahoma's Stacey King scored a tournament-record 38 points but didn't get much help. The Sooners, who shot 42 percent compared to 66 percent for Missouri, scored only 19 points from the perimeter.


North Carolina 77, Duke 74

Steve Bucknall scored all 10 of his points in the last 5:28 to lead North Carolina to its first Atlantic Coast Conference tournament title since 1982. North Carolina led by 12 points in the first half but Duke rallied and took the lead for the first time on two free throws by John Smith with 5:44 left.


Louisville 87, Florida St. 80

Pervis Ellison scored 22 points as Louisville won its second straight Metro tournament. Louisville led by 14 in the second half but the Seminoles cut the margin to three with 1:35 left on a three-point play by Derrick Mitchell. Ellison and LaBradford Smith each hit two free throws in the final 37 seconds to clinch the victory.


Ball St. 67, Kent St. 65

Billy Butts scored 19 points, including five 3-pointers, and Paris McCurdy added 15 points and 11 rebounds as Ball State withstood a late Kent State rally.


Alabama 72, Florida 60

Keith Askins scored 14 of his 23 points during a 2:14 span in the second half as Alabama broke open a close game to win its fourth SEC tournament.


Arkansas 100, Texas 76

Lenzie Howell scored 28 points as Arkansas won the Southwest Conference tournament for the first time in seven years. Arkansas broke the record of 92 points in an SWC tournament championship game set by Houston in 1978.


Southern U. 86, Texas Southern 81

Carlos Sample scored 26 points, including four free throws in the final second of overtime. Texas Southern led 81-80 with three seconds left when Darrion Applewhite was called for an intentional foul on Southern's Darryl Battles, who made both free throws.