Forward Stacey Augmon, who led No. 18 Nevada-Las Vegas to its seventh straight Big West Conference regular-season championship, became the first sophomore to be named the league's Player of the Year.

New Mexico State's Neil McCarthy was named Coach of the Year and Utah State guard Kendall Youngblood was named Freshman of the Year. The three honors were voted on by the league's coaches.Augmon, of Pasadena, Calif., averaged 14.7 points and 7.5 rebounds.

Youngblood, of Ogden, Utah, averaged 10.8 points, 4.3 rebounds and 4.1 assists for Utah State, 10-8 and 12-16, which lost to Cal State Fullerton in Thursday's opening round.

McCarthy, in his fourth season at New Mexico State, guided the Aggies to their best finish ever in the league, at 12-6 and 19-9 overall.

UNLV center David Butler joined Augmon on the All-Big West first team. The rest of the first team included forwards Cedric Ceballos of Cal State Fullerton and Jervis Cole of Fresno State, guard Reid Newey of Utah State and Johnny Roberson of New Mexico State.