Michael Smith of Brigham Young and coach Reggie Minton of Air Force head the District 7 men's basketball all-star team chosen by members of the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

Smith, the top rebounder and one of the leading scorers in the Western Athletic Conference this season, was named player of the year for the district, which includes colleges in the states of Wyoming, Utah, Idaho, New Mexico, Colorado, Nevada and Montana.The team was announced on Wednesday.

Minton, who guided Air Force to its first regular-season winning record in 11 seasons, was selected District 7 coach of the year.

Smith topped a group of honorees including 10 players from 10 different schools.

Others on the District 7 team were Pat Durham of WAC champion Colorado State, Raymond Dudley of Air Force, Charlie Thomas of New Mexico, Stacey Augmon of Nevada-Las Vegas, Rico Washington of Weber State, Mitch Smith of Utah, Shaun Vandiver of Colorado, Reid Newey of Utah State and Robyn Davis of Wyoming.