The Utah Press Association Friday presented its annual Honorary Publisher Award to Suzanne Dean of the University of Utah public relations office.

Dean, a writer for the university's news service, was honored for her support to the association.She has played an active role in the UPA, including coordinating activities for annual conventions. She has continually offered assistance to the UPA, officers said. At the U. she also coordinates the university's state news program and student internships.

Dean was editor of the school newspaper at Highland High School. While attending the U., she worked on the Daily Utah Chronicle and at the Salt Lake Tribune. She is a 1971 honors graduate of the U. and received a master's degree from Columbia University School of Journalism.

She was an urban affairs and business writer at the Deseret News from 1973 to 1978 and in 1974 won a first-place award from the Utah Sociaty of Professional Journalists for a five-part series on Salt Lake's urban envirnoment.

The press association also announced the winners of its second annual Celebrate Excellence contest for high school and junior high school journalists and photographers.

More than 300 entries were received. Winners received certificates, and Sharon Stockstill, a junior at Alta High School in Salt Lake City, won a scholarship equivalent to one quarter's tuition at the University of Utah for her press-freedom essay.

The winners are:


Sharon Stockstill, Alta High School, Salt Lake City


High School--Jennifer Nielson, Hillcrest High School, Salt Lake City; Jodie Spenst, Alta High; Kevin Huff, Hillcrest High

Junior high school--Cynthia Watts, Canyon View Junior High, Orem; Lori Bendixen, Kennedy Junior High, West Valley City; Mickeal Miller, Mont Harmon Junior High, Price.


High School--Karine Stone, Orem High; Kim Richardson, Orem High; Suzanne Schurig, Timpview High, Provo; honorable mention, S. Denise Bailey, Mountain Crest High, Hyrum.

Junior high--Amanda Gardner, Jaci Spendlove and Gabby Stanley, all of Dixie Middle School, St. George.


High School--Tom Jaeckel, Granger High, Salt Lake City. No second or third place awarded.

Junior high--Craig Crookston, Mont Harmon Junior High, Price. No second or third place awarded.


High school--Hillcrest Sentry, Hillcrest High

Junior high--The Peregrine, Canyon View Junior High