Former Long Beach State All-American Ed Ratleff has been selected as the most valuable player of the Big West Conference's Double-Decade All-Star basketball team, it was announced Monday.

In conjunction with the Big West's 20-year anniversary, past and present conference media, coaches and other league officials were polled to compile a basketball all-star team for the league's first two decades.Ratleff played at Long Beach State from 1970-73. Joining him on the first team were Kevin Magee of UC Irvine (1980-82), Leon Wood of Fullerton State (1981-84), Armon Gilliam of Nevada-Las Vegas (1984-87), and Ron Cornelius of Pacific (1977-81).

Selected to the second team were Sidney Green of UNLV (1982-83), Ricky Berry of San Jose State (1985-88), Greg Grant of Utah State (1982-86), George Trapp of Long Beach State (1969-71), and Brian Shaw of UC Santa Barbara (1983-88).

Accorded honorable mention were Greg Bunch of Fullerton (1973-78), Rod Higgins of Fresno (1978-82), UNLV's Richie Adams (1981-85) and Freddie Banks (1983-87), John Gianelli of Pacific (1969-72), and Bernard Thompson of Fresno (1980-84).