Scouters who have given exceptional service to youths, the community and Scouting will step into the spotlight Feb. 23 during the annual Silver Beaver Awards presentation.

The Great Salt Lake Council, Boy Scouts of America, will present 49 of the awards, the highest bestowed by a local Scout council, during a program at 7:30 p.m. in the Capitol Theater, 50 W. Second South.Hyrum Smith, formerly president and chief executive officer of the Franklin Institute, a long-time friend of Scouting and past Silver Beaver recipient, will be the featured speaker.

Council President Kevin R. Watts and his wife, Myrle, will present the awards. Masters of ceremonies will be Mark Van Wagoner of KMGR Radio and Doug Miller of KSL Television.

Utah Gov. Norm Bangerter, a member of the council's advisory board, and Colleen Bangerter, Utah's first lady and a council member-at-large, will be among honorees.

Other recipients, their geographical area and Scouting responsibility:

Salt Lake City - Bill Ackerman, merit badge counselor; Michael C. Bean, Scoutmaster; Calvin Reed Brown, Scoutmaster; Barbara Embley, district member-at-large; Gary Fereday, assistant district commissioner; Velma K. Glad, district roundtable committee; Wayne Graybill, district advancement chairman; Kenneth E. Green, district chairman; Gary G. Jenkins, Explorer adviser; Lynn H. Jones, assistant district commissioner; Joan S. Larsen, troop advancement committee; Timothy C. Lunt, troop committee member; Neal D. Maxfield, assistant Scoutmaster.

Also, Sanders C. Powell, Webelos leader; Eldon D. Pugh, Scoutmaster; Earl D. Stewart, troop committee chairman; Dilworth C. Strasser, council Explorer training chairman; William H. Tippetts, district Boy Scout vice chairman; William W. Wagner, district Varsity Scout vice chairman.

Tooele - John E. Bruns, Scoutmaster; and David F. Isolampi, Cubmaster.

Draper - Ruth Carter, Cubmaster.

Taylorsville - Sherrill Chapman, troop committee chairman; and Donald D. Pannier, Cubmaster and Webelos leader.

Riverton - Keith D. Cornia, Explorer post adviser.

Sandy - Richard Cowley, Varsity Scout team coach; Paul N. Peacock, Scoutmaster; Charles H. Schott, assistant district commissioner; and Paul Webb, district advancement committee.

Centerville - Norman L. Beers, Scoutmaster.

Bountiful - Grant S. Davis, district chairman; Robert L. Gwilliam, Scouting coordinator; Sandra L. Gwilliam, district Blazer leader; and J. Melvin Harrison, advancement committee.

Midvale - Darol K. Denison, assistant district commissioner; Donald McLelland, unit commissioner; and Catherine Olson, district Cub Scout commissioner.

Park City - Michael S. Eldredge, Scoutmaster.

Magna - Richard D. Forster, district Varsity Scout chairman.

Murray - Dennis L. Otteson, Blazer leader; Peter Robbins, district roundtable commissioner; and Helga Zabriskie, stake Blazer adviser.

West Valley City - Oscar L. Orton, Explorer adviser.

West Jordan - Arly Pedersen, Varsity assistant district commissioner; and Fred Thompson, roundtable commissioner.

South Jordan - Kenneth L. Pyper Sr., Blazer Scout leader.

Grantsville - DeRay Sparks, district chairman.