The Brighton High Bengals received a dose of their own medicine Saturday at the 4A state swimming meet at the University of Utah Natatorium.

That medicine - defeat - was personally delivered to them by the Skyline Eagles.

Skyline's 429-343 victory over Brighton gave Steve Marsing his first state title.

It also ended Brighton's championship streak at five.

The Lady Bengals, however added another state trophy to their growing collection.

Number eight came pretty easy for Russ Lauber and his tropps.

They outscored their closest opponent, Skyline 410-283.

"This (winning a state crown) is something you wonder about . . . especially because you know what it's like to lose," said Marsing, who saw his team finish second last year.

"Russ and I respect each other so much. The key was Trevor's (Stauffer) leadership. He led, they followed and I sat back and cheered.

"I am shocked at how well they swam. With the way they worked out all year I thought that they could do it. They worked hard and swam well. You just hope they do it when it counts."

Lauber was philosophical about his first defeat in seven years.

"Its not like we lost; we got beat," he said.

"Sure it's hard on the kids, but it's part of growing up. We have been confident almost to the point of arrogance. It's good to be set back in that regard."

The Eagles didn't earn their first title with individual championships. Out of 22 events, Skyline was first in only one, the 400-yard freestyle relay, where the team of Jared Young, Guillermo Lecuona, Trevor Stauffer and Alan Bone easily outswam the competition to win for the fourth consecutive year.

It was Skyline's depth that paid off.

Skyline had three swimmers place in the 100-yard backstroke; four in the 500-yard freestyle; four in the 100-yard freestyle and three in the 50-yard freestyle.

Stauffer, Skyline's captain, earned a fourth in the 200-yard freestyle and a third in the 500-yard freestyle, Erik Crankshaw was second in the backstroke and fourth in the IM while Lecuona was second in the 100-yard freestyle and fourth in the 50-yard freestyle.

Brighton earned the most individual championships - eight in the boys' competition and three in the girls' division.

Outstanding Athlete of the Year Kyle Lambson claimed victories in the 200-yard IM, the 100-yard backstroke and was part of the winning medley relay. Eric Peterson won both the 50 and 100-yard freestyles while Erik Hanssen won the 500-yard freestyle. Mark Etherington edged out his brother Clark for the title in the 100-yard breaststroke.

Brighton dominated the women's competition with Kristen Hanssen winning the 500-yard freestyle, Alicia Cruz claiming first in the diving competition and Kris Haws winning the backstroke.

For the fifth year in a row the Lady Eagles finished second, holding off a strong Mountain View team. Amy Leeper collected firsts in the 50-yard freestyle and the medley relay.

The 400-yard freestyle relay almost broke their own state record, with the team of Brooke D'Evelyn, Becky Clinger, Deanna Barnes and Janna Bergen edging out East.

Outstanding Female Athlete of the year was Mountain View's Kirsten Sanders who won the 200 IM and the 100 yard butterfly. East's Julie Halverson turned in a strong performance as well, winning the 200-yard freestyle and second in the 100-yard freestyle.