Gaylord W. Gardner of W.W. and W.B. Gardner Inc., Salt Lake City, is now president of the Utah Chapter of the Associated General Contractors of America.

Michael R. Tolboe of Tolboe Construction Co., Salt Lake City, is the new vice president, and Bruce Alder, Alder Construction Co., Salt Lake City, is the new secretary/treasurer.Members of the board are Rulon Harper, Harper Companies, Salt Lake City; Ron Christensen, Christensen and Griffith Construction Co., Tooele; Jack Parson Jr., Jack B. Parson Cos., Ogden; Calvin Carter, Carter Enterprises, Cedar City; William Harlin Jr., W.P. Harlin Construction, Salt Lake City; Robert Evans, Utah Construction and Development, Salt Lake City; Don Bell, CCI Mechanical, Salt Lake City; and Bill Sherwood, American Testing Laboratories, Salt Lake City.

National directors are Max Johnson, LeGrand Johnson Construction, Logan; and David M. Horne, Horne Construction Corp., Salt Lake City.

Chapter officers announced that Leland J. Birch, a Springville resident and an employee of Tolboe Construction Co., has been named superintendent of the year by the AGC Building Division.

L.W. Haymond, a Springville resident and employee of W.W. Clyde & Co., was named superintendent of the year by the AGC Highway Division.

Other award winners were Utah Barricade Co., Salt Lake City, as AGC subcontractor of the year; Melvin Mackay of W.W. White Co., Salt Lake City, AGC salesman of the year; and Robert Babcock of the law firm Walstad & Babcock, Salt Lake City, service to the industry award. Byron Paulsen of Paulsen Construction Co., Salt Lake City, received the Eric W. Ryberg Award as the general contractor of the year.