New members of the Provo School District Board of Education were sworn in and a new president and vice president were elected this week.

Gayle Chandler, Kenneth W. Clark, Kenneth W. Matheson and Mossi White took the oath of office in a Tuesday board meeting."I'm glad to serve," Clark said. "My heart is with the young people. I'm thrilled and amazed at the commitment you have in working with these people and their betterment."

Clark and Matheson take the place of retired board members Walter Hansen and Clarence Robison. Chandler was appointed to the board in the summer after board member Glen Brown resigned. White was appointed almost a year ago to replace Ronald Bingham, who moved from the district. Both women were elected to their positions in November.

Board members also elected David Weight as board president and Mossi White as vice president during the meeting. Both will serve two years.

"These have been some of the most rewarding times in my life," White said. "I've met many people committed to education in the state and it is truly a privilege to be associated with them."

The board also voted to reappoint Business Administrator Lynn Smith for two years.