L. Merrill Riggs, second vice president and Sugar House Branch manager of Zions First National Bank, has been elected president of the Sugar House Chamber of Commerce.

Other officers are Wilford Lieber, International Down and Feather Testing Laboratory, president, and Darrel L. Roberts, a certified public accountant, treasurer.Newly elected directors are Richard W. Aposhian, owner of Aposhian Garage; Gary D. Lloyd, owner of G & D Tire & Service; James A. McGuire, project director for Clark Financial Corp.; and John H. Walton, personnel and advertising manager for Granite Furniture Co.

Holdover directors are Jac Chappuis, vice president and East Valley Banking Center manager for First Interstate Bank; Margot C. Kadesch, dean of the Center for Professional Development at Westminster College; and Lester G. Reese, executive vice president of the chamber.