Senate President Arnold Christensen

First elected to the Senate in 1978, Christensen, 52, is a self-employed electrical contractor who represents the south part of Sandy City. He was first elected president of the body in 1985, and when he finishes this two-year term he will be one of the few presidents to serve six years.Senate Majority Leader Cary Peterson

Peterson, 53, is a rancher from Nephi who represents Juab, Millard, Sanpete, Sevier, Beaver, Piute and Wayne counties. He was first elected to the House 1972 and served as majority whip before being elected to the Senate in 1980.

Senate Majority Whip Dix McMullin

A private educator, McMullin, 55, was first elected to the House in 1976. He was elected to the Senate in 1982 representing Draper, Bluffdale and parts of South Jordan.

Senate Minority Leader Rex Black

Black, 68, is a retired railroad engineer who has been in the Senate since 1972 and is one of its senior members. He's been the leader of the Demorats in the body since 1981. He represents Rose Park, the west side of Salt Lake City and parts of South Salt Lake.

Senate Minority Whip Eldon Money

Money, 58, is a farmer and rancher from Spanish Fork. Money was elected to the House in 1974 and appointed to the Senate in 1979. He represents the south part of Utah County.

Speaker of the House Nolan Karras

First elected to the House in 1980, Karras is just taking the speaker's seat. He was majority leader the past two years. Karras, 44, is a certified public accountant and owns his own investment firm. He represents the city of Roy and some of its suburbs.

House Majority Leader Craig Moody

Moody, 37, is a real estate broker and former chairman of the Utah Republican Party. He was first elected to the House in 1982 and was Rules Committee chairman the past two years. He represents Draper and parts of Sandy.

House Majority Whip Dave Adams

Adams, 46, is a rancher from Monticello. He was first elected to the House in 1984. New to leadership this year, Adams represents San Juan County.

House Minority Leader Mike Dmitrich

Dmitrich, 52, was first elected to the House in 1969 and has been minority leader since 1983. A former banker, Dmitrich is now in charge of government and public affairs for Cyprus Minerals Corp., a Price coal company. He represents Price and eastern Carbon County, half of Emery County and all of Grand County.

House Minority Whip Frank Pignanelli

At 28, Pignanelli is the youngest member of leadership and a member of the Democratic Class of '86, when the minority party picked up 13 House seats. A lawyer, Pignanelli represents the Capitol Hill and lower Avenues areas of Salt Lake City.