Davis School Board members selected a new leader after three of their colleagues were sworn in Tuesday night.

Lynn Summerhays, a Farmington resident, was unanimously elected to be president of the board with Louenda Downs, a two-year board member from Layton, chosen vice president.Summerhays, 40, a project manager for the Boyer Co., told the board he felt his job was to act like a basketball team's point guard. "The point guard may not be the best shooter or have the best athletic ability, but he facilitates the best players on the team to make the plays," he said.

Summerhays, Dan Eastman, Bountiful, and Ray Briscoe, Bountiful, were sworn into new four-year terms. The remaining board member, Robert Thurgood, Syracuse, is up for re-election in two years.

Eastman took former board president Sheryl Allen's seat on the board. He represents all of Bountiful except seven voting districts on the city's east side. Allen didn't seek re-election after serving three terms.

Summerhays now occupies the seat vacated by former board vice president Henry Heath. Heath did not seek reelection in Precinct 3, which represents Centerville, Farmington, Fruit Heights, Kaysville and south Layton.

Briscoe was elected to his third term. His seat represents southeast Bountiful, North Salt Lake, West Bountiful, Woods Cross and nearby unincorporated areas.