The Utah Chapter of the American College of Physicians recently honored two Salt Lake physicians with the prestigious Laureat Award. Recognizing an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education and/or research as well as service to the community, the award was presented to Dr. Louis G. Moench and Dr. Wallis L. Craddock. Moench was honored for his lifelong commitment to the improvement of care for the mentally ill. Craddock was recognized for more than three decades of service to the Veteran's Administration.

****James M. Katsanevas has been elected president of the Minos Chapter, Pancretan Association of America. He succeeds Chris G. Tsoutsounakis, also of Salt Lake City, as head of one of the oldest Greek fraternal organizations in America.

Also elected were: Phillip J. Durantos, first vice president; Jim Fouskandrakis, second vice president, and John B. Sergakis, secretary.

**** The Rotary Club of Sandy has given its community service award this year to Sandy fireman Don Arends.

In his 10 years with the Fire Department, Arends has spearheaded the Adopt-a-Hydrant program and promoted public awareness on such issues as fire safety and emergency planning. He is also an Emergency Medical Technician instructor.

**** William Alder is the recipient of the Utah Public Employees Association's Leonard W. McDonald Commitment to Excellence Award. He was recognized for his compassionate and capable service as a child protetive service worker at the Midvale office of the Department of Social Services.

**** Thalia Ann Swinyer, a clinical research coordinator working with Dr. Leonard J. Swinyer in Salt Lake City, is the recipient of the Second Annual Dermatology Nurse Practice Award for clinical excellence. The award was presented recently at the annual convention of the Dermatology Nurses' Association in Washington, D.C.