Jim Wright, D-Texas, began his second term as House speaker Tuesday, and George Mitchell, D-Maine, started his tenure as Senate majority leader.

Here are the other leadership positions in the 101st Congress:ENATE

President pro tempore - Robert C. Byrd, D-W.Va.

Majority whip - Alan Cranston, D-Calif.

Chief deputy whip - Alan Dixon, D-Ill.

Democratic Conference secretary - David Pryor, D-Ark.; Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee chairman - John Breaux, D-La.; Democratic Steering Committee chairman - Daniel Inouye, D-Hawaii; Democratic Policy Committee chairman - Mitchell; Democratic Policy Committee co-chairman - Tom Daschle, D-S.D.

Minority Leader - Bob Dole, R-Kan.

Minority whip - Alan K. Simpson, R-Wyo.

Republican Conference chairman - John Chafee, R-R.I.; Republican Conference secretary - Thad Cochran, R-Miss.; Republican Policy Committee chairman - Bill Armstrong, R-Colo.; Republican Senatorial Committee chairman - Don Nickels, R-Okla.