Four Davis County officials were sworn in Tuesday morning. Three were elected in the November elections and one was appointed after the sheriff resigned.

Second District Judge Rodney S. Page swore in Commissioners Gayle Stevenson and William "Dub" Lawrence; Margene Isom as the new county clerk; and Harry Jones as the county's new sheriff.Lawrence defeated incumbent Commissioner Harold Tippetts for the two-year County Commission seat in the September primaries. It is his second office in county government. He served four years in the 1970s as Davis County sheriff.

Stevenson was sworn in for a four-year term on the County Commission. A former Davis school district administrator, Stevenson was appointed as an interim county commissioner in July on the resignation of Glen Saunders.

Saunders resigned in June to take the vacant county clerk's post and announced he would run for the job in the fall elections but was defeated in the September primary by Isom.

Isom, a former loan manager for a savings and loan firm, is taking a county office for the first time.

Jones was appointed last week to fill remaining two years in the term of former Sheriff Brant L. Johnson.