State Parole and Probation Agent Elaine T. Daines has been named president of the Utah Correctional Association, which has more than 500 members representing various correctional agencies throughout the state.

Sally Powell, also with the state Department of Corrections, was named secretary; Blake Wright, with the Division of Youth Corrections, treasurer; and Nancy DeJong, with the Juvenile Court, nominating chair.Besides naming officers at a recent conference in Ogden, the association also recognized five Utahns who have made outstanding contributions in the field of corrections.

Gary DeLand, executive director of the state Department of Corrections, was honored in the field of adult corrections, and Bo Hall, director of Special Vocational Services, in the field of juvenile corrections.

Paul Curtis, an administrator with the Division of Youth Corrections, received the James A. Larsen Award for his contributions in the criminal justice field.

Rob Simonson, received the Outstanding Volunteer of the Year award for his donation of services to the 3rd District Juvenile Court. Pete Suazo, administrative assistant to Salt Lake Mayor Palmer DePaulis, received the Outstanding Citizen Award.