Several new committee chairmen will be in place when the state Legislature convenes in January. Of the 41 committee and subcommittee chairmanships, 21 will be different than during last year's session.

The Executive Appropriations Committee, among the most important because it drafts the state's budget, will be chaired by former House Speaker Rep. Glen E. Brown, R-Coalville. The senate chairman of the committee will be Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard, R-Logan, who served in that post during the last two sessions.Other new committee chairmanship assignments in the House:

Rep. Donald R. LeBaron, R-Highland, Business, Labor and Economic Development; Rep. Jed W. Wasden, R-Midvale, Education; Rep. Scott. W. Holt, R-Syracuse, Judiciary; Rep. Franklin Knowlton, R-Layton, Revenue and Taxation; Rep. Rob W. Bishop, R-Brigham City, Rules; Rep. Melvin R. Brown, R-Midvale, Social Services; Rep. Afton B. Bradshaw, R-Salt Lake, State and Local Affairs; Rep. Michael G. Waddoups, R-Salt Lake, Transportation and Public Safety.

New committee chairmanships in the Senate:

Sen. Lane Beattie, R-Bountiful, Business, Labor and Economic Development; Sen. Dixie L. Leavitt, R-Cedar City, Education; Sen. C.E. Peterson, R-Provo, Rules; Sen. Boyd K. Storey, R-Eden, Social Services; Sen. Craig A. Peterson, R-Orem, State and Local Affairs; Sen. Glade Nielsen, R-Roy, Transportation and Public Safety.