President Roh Tae-woo named a new Cabinet Monday in atonement for the harsh rule of his predecessor. But the opposition rejected the shakeup and charged that some new ministers had supported "dictatorship."

By naming Kang Young-hoon prime minister and installing 19 new ministers, Roh was attempting to defuse nationwide furor over the government of former president Chun Doo-hwan and show his commitment to democratic reform.But the new 23-member Cabinet consists mainly of appointees from the governing Democratic Justice Party. There were no dramatic changes and key law, intelligence and military posts went to officials who served under Chun.

A government statement said the changes were "to put the mind of the public at rest following the anxiety created by problems of the past era" and that the new Cabinet would "ensure further democratic reforms."