Utah State wide receiver Kendal Smith was named the Big West Conference offensive player of the year and Fresno State linebacker Tracy Rogers was selected the conference's defensive player of the year, it was announced Monday.

Also, Fresno State coach Jim Sweeney was selected the league's coach of the year after guiding the Bulldogs to a 9-2 record and the conference championship.The selections were made by the conference's head coaches.

Smith, a 5-foot-9, 185-pound senior from Redwood City, Calif., caught 65 passes for 1,196 yards and 11 touchdowns.

Utah State quarterback Brent Snyder, who threw the passes to Smith, was a first-team all conference selection. He was joined in the backfield by running backs Kelly Skipper of Fresno State, Johnny Johnson of San Jose State and Tommy Jackson of Nevada-Las Vegas.

The other wide receiver was Kevin Evans of San Jose State. Members of the offensive line were Matt Fitts of Fullerton State, Jeff Truschel and Jeff Skidmore of Fresno State, Jerry Brown of Utah State and Derrick Jinks of Long Beach State. Named at tight end was Craig Jones of Fresno State.

Other first-team linebackers in addition to Rogers were Jerry Leggett of Fullerton State, Ron Cox of Fresno State and Darryl Ford of New Mexico State. Members of the defensive line were A.J. Jenkins of Fullerton State, Chuck McCutchen of Fresno State, Doc Wise of Nevada-Las Vegas and Brian Hunsaker of Utah State. Members of the secondary in addition to Koperek were Stacey Alexander of Long Beach State, James Williams and Tony Harris of Fresno State and Travis Clark of Utah State.