Quarterback Randy Welniak and seven fellow players from Wyoming's Western Athletic Conference championship team have been named to the all-WAC team as selected by the league's coaches.

Brigham Young and Texas-El Paso each placed five players on the first team, while Hawaii had four and Utah two.Welniak led the Cowboys to an 11-1 season and Wyoming's second consecutive WAC title. He threw for 2,633 yards and 21 touchdowns, was ranked eighth in the nation in passing efficiency and was 10th nationally in total offense with a 254.25 yard average.

Wyoming's Dabby Dawson, with 1,125 yards rushing; San Diego State's Paul Hewitt with 1,055 yards, and Hawaii's Heikoti Fakava, a repeater from last year's All-WAC, with 807 yards and 12 TDS, were named the first team's running backs Monday.

Wide receivers are Utah's Carl Harry and Brigham Young's Chuck Cutler.

The rest of the offense include Utah tight end Dennis Smith, UTEP kicker Chris Jacke and the linemen - BYU's Brian White, Air Force's Kevin Bell, Wyoming's Grant Salisbury, Hawaii's Amosa Amosa and UTEP's James Spady.

Wyoming dominates the defensive line with Pat Rabold, Dave Edeen and Mitch Donahue, joined by UTEP's Tony Tolbert. The linebackers are Wyoming's Mike Schenbeck, UTEP's Ken Sale, Hawaii's David Maeva and BYU's Bob Davis.

Defensive backs are Colorado State's Ron Cortell, BYU's Rodney Rice, UTEP's Terry Walker and Wyoming's Eric Coleman. BYU's Pat Thompson is the punter and Hawaii's Larry Kahn-Smith is the return specialist.