DeLance W. Squire, former mayor of Orem and current executive director of the Commission for Economic Development in Orem, has been named 1988's recipient of the Provo/Orem Chamber of Commerce's Arthur V. Watkins Outstanding Citizen Award.

"DeLance has been a tremendous asset to the community his entire life," said Chamber president Steve Densley. "There were many excellent nominations made, and we think DeLance is a fine representative of what's good in this city."The tenth annual awards, given in nine categories, are named for long-time Orem resident and two-term United States Sentor Arthur V. Watkins and give special recognition to individuals who have given exemplary service in voluntary activities in the community.

The University Mall with manager Rob Kallas has been chosen Business of the Year; Colleen Ferguson of the Diet Center received Outstanding Businesswoman; and Charles E. Rohbock of Rohbock's Floral & Gifts was named Outstanding Businessman.

University Mall opened in 1973 and has grown to be the largest mall in Utah, offering nearly a million square feet and 185 stores. Owned by the Woodbury Corporation, it employs nearly 2,000 people.

Ferguson, in addition to being a Certified Diet Center Counselor, has served on the Utah Valley Regional Medical Center's board of directors for 13 years. She is currently a senior member and vice chairman of the board. Rohbock has been in the floral business in Orem for almost 45 years.

In addition, Keith Haines has been honored for Outstanding Chamber Service; J. Brent and Kathryn Wood received Outstanding Community Service Project for their work on the Jason Overman Fund; and Bonneville Elementary principal Brent Milne was named Educator of the Year.

Haines has been a member of the Chamber's Legislative Action Committee for several years and has organized scores for debates and meetings to help educate the public about what's happening politically. The Woods organized auctions, school fund-raisers and corporate donations to raise money for Jason Overman's bone marrow transplant operation. Milne received the National Distinguished Principals Award in 1987 for his innovative and creative plans for more efficient use of education funds.

Rebecca Anne Bybee, Mountain View High School distance runner, was named Athlete of the Year, and Orem High School senior Craig S. Cook received Outstanding Student.

Bybee, 17, a high school All-American in cross country the past three years, was the Utah 4A individual champion in the 800 and 3200 meters in 1987 and 1988. Cook, also 17, carries a 3.965 grade point average and has been on the honor roll each quarter since the seventh grade.