THE LAND - Pakistan covers 310,000 square miles, more than the state of Texas. Its neighbors are Iran on the west, Afghanistan to the northwest, the Soviet Union to the north and India on the east. The four main provinces are Punjab, Sind, Baluchistan and North West Frontier.

THE PEOPLE - Of the 107 million people, two-thirds are of the Punjabi ethnic group and 97 percent are Moslem. Urdu is the official language but English is widely used.THE GOVERNMENT - Pakistan has a parliamentary system. The president is chief of state and the prime minister, chosen from the National Assembly, is chief of government.