Dr. Charles B. Edwards, a general surgeon, is the new president of the Salt Lake County Medical Society, and Dr. Thomas L. Jones is president-elect. Other new officers are Dr. Grant P. Bagley, secretary; Dr. Deborah F. Robinson, treasurer; and Dr. A. Krehl Smith, trustee. The society presented Special Awards of Merit to Dr. Henry P. Plenk, a retired physician, for his contributions in cancer therapy development, and Dr. Kristen Ries. The infectious disease specialist was honored for her care and compassion in the treatment of AIDS.

Anita L. Pedersen, an intake worker and editor for the Department of Social Services, has received the Utah Public Employee's Association excellence award.Carsten Mortensen of Utelite Corp., Coalville, is the new president of the Expanded Shale Clay and Slate Institute. He will serve as president of the national organization until the 1989 annual meeting.

Libero Della Piana, a student at Rowland Hall-St. Mark's, is a semifinalist in the National Achievement Scholarship Program for Outstanding Negro Students. He will compete for about 700 scholarships to be presented next spring. He also is a simultaneous competitor for National Merit scholarships offered by American businesses, foundations, colleges and universities that support the national program.

The American Political Science Association has named Amal Kawar, Utah State University assistant professor of political science, as editor of its national newsletter.