Toy Hansen of Murray, has been elected president of the Utah Quarter Horse Association and Salt Lake City's Ken Cochrane and Dan Edmonds have been elected as vice presidents of the organization at its recent annual convention and awards banquet at the Salt Lake Doubletree Inn.

Cochrane will oversee the association's show division, and Edmonds will direct the association race division. Bob Monson, Salt Lake City, was elected secretary and treasurer at the annual meeting."Our association, which includes more than 475 members, helps contribute to Utah's strong economic base throughout the year by sponsoring and judging horse shows and races in every area of the state," Hansen said.

Newly elected members of the association's board of directors include Judy DeLegrange, Garland; Sharon Prescott, Willard; Tom Peterson, Dale Dunn and Steve Vereen, Morgan; Joe Secrist, West Bountiful; Ed Marsing, Centerville; Kyle McMullin, Farmington; Steve Weese and Linda Nicholl, Salt Lake City; Larry Larsen, West Jordan; Stu Sprouse, Sandy; Louise Padgett, South Jordan; Debbi Gale, Orem; Sherrie Scott, Lehi; Vicki Lee, American Fork; Miles Morris, Provo; Deanne Roberts, Kamas; Bea Tomadakis and Joyce Worley, Price; Walt Jones, Helper; and Phyllis Torgersen, Aurora, Sevier County.

New officers of the association's Youth Division include Nikki Williams, Coalville, president; Marty Marsing, Centerville, vice president; and Stephanie Smith, Salt Lake City, secretary. J. C. Dean, Provo, is the 13-and-under representative and Cindy Anderson, Salt Lake City, is the 14-through-18 representative. Jennifer Larsen, West Jordan, is reporter.

Honored at the annual convention for their many years of dedication to Utah's horse industry and inducted into the association's Hall of Fame were Bob Reese and Bob Monson, both Salt Lake City, and the late Blaine V. Glasmann.