A Salt Lake farm broadcaster and a Utah State University weed scientist received top honors at the USU College of Agriculture annual scholarship banquet in Logan.

John Berg, farm news director for KSL Radio, was presented with the college's 1988 Distinguished Service Award, and Jack Evans, weed scientist in the USU department of plant science, was named 1988 distinguished professor."John Berg is a valued asset in Utah's agricultural community," said Doyle Matthews, dean of the USU College of Agriculture. "He broadcasts vital agribusiness information that farmers can understand and use in their day-to-day operations."

Berg, a native of the Murray-Cop-perton area, got his first taste of agriculture thinning sugar beets for Frank Diamond in West Jordan. Berg joined KSL in 1979 after broadcast work in Idaho, Texas and California. At KSL he hosts the "Greenhouse Show," whose popularity prompted KSL to lengthen the show and add an early morning "Greenhouse Program."

Evans has taught undergraduate and graduate weed science courses at USU for 20 years.

"The teacher evaluation forms in our college reveal that students rate Dr. Evans as the top instructor," Matthews said. "He sets a high standard for himself in integrity and productivity and routinely spends from daylight to dark in the field during the summer."

Evans earned a bachelor's degree in agronomy from the University of Wyoming, a master's in plant breeding from Utah State and a doctorate in weed science from the University of Minnesota. Before moving to Logan he was a member of the botany staff at Colorado State University.

Among Evans' major research projects are the study of the behavior of herbicides in moving surface waters, the environmental effects of herbicides on crops and non-target plants and the accumulation of simazine in a three-step food chain, which provides guidelines for scientists worldwide.

Evans has also conducted weed research in Latin America and East Africa and directs graduate students from South Africa, Turkey, Latin America and the United States.