The Utah Manufacturers Association has named Geneva Steel president Joseph A. Cannon as "UMA

Business Executive of the Year" at the organization's annual meeting Saturday.Cannon was instrumental in acquiring and re-opening the Orem steel plant after its former owner, USX Corp., closed it down, putting more than 2,000 people out of work.

Since reopening in Sept. 1987, the plant employs 2,200 men and women and is one of the 10 largest steel plants in the country. The company has also donated more than $300,000 to educational, civic and cultural programs in the past year.

"We honor Joe Cannon for his role in the reopening of Geneva Steel as well as his community contributions since the reopening," Wilford W. Clyde, UMA past chairman and president of Geneva Rock Products Inc. told the 450 UMA members in the Little America Hotel.

Cannon holds bachelor's and law degrees from Brigham Young University. He was an assistant administrator in the federal Environmental Protection Agency and survived that agency's shakeup in recent years before beginning his quest to acquire Geneva.

He serves on the boards of the Utah Opera, Utah Symphony, Utah Foundation and the American Iron and Steel Institute. He was recently asked to serve on the BYU School of Management's National Advisory Council.

In other business at the annual meeting, eight directors were named to the UMA board and other members were honored for their service to the association.

New officers won't be elected until Nov. 15, a spokesman said.

Re-elected to the UMA board were: John R. Bollow, director of public affairs for Geneva Steel; Wilford W. Clyde, president of Geneva Rock Products Inc. in Orem; and Gerald R. Moffitt, manager of Chevron USA's Salt Lake refinery.

New board members are:Frank A. Cereska, manager of the Ogden Kimberly Clark plant; Gerard R. Koontz, general manager of Fairchild Industries' Natter Manufacturing Division in West Jordan; Don J. Leonard, president of Eimco Molded Products Co. in Salt Lake; Kirk R. Nelson, assistant vice president of US WEST Communications in Salt Lake; and V. Edward Rigby, manager of Moore Business Forms' plant in St. George.

Bollow was honored for his term as UMA chairman in 1988. Also acknowledged for their three years service on the board were Donald J. Cier, Syro Steel; Ben F. Jones Jr., Young Electric Sign; and R. Anthony Sweet of Sweet Candy Co.

Gov. Norm Bangerter addressed the group. Also attending were legislative leadership; Sen. Jake Garn, R-Utah; Orrin Hatch, R-Utah; Rep. Jim Hansen, R-Utah, and Wayne Owens, D-Utah.