Awards were presented to Utah State University Extension staff members during the annual USU Extension Conference.

Those recognized include:Retirement: Norman B. Jones, Environmental Engineering Specialist, USU; Charles H. Mickelsen, Dairy Science Specialist, USU; and Margie Ruth Newman, home economist and supervisor of the Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program, Salt Lake County.

Length of Service Recognition (25 years): Mar Genne B. Rowley, agent, Millard County.

Epsilon Sigma Phi Association - International Service Award: William F. Farnsworth, program administrator for International Extension, Logan; State Friend of Extension: Glenn R. Wilde, associate dean, College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences, USU; Distinguished Service Award: Gerald R. Olson, associate vice president for Extension, USU; Certificates of Meritorious Service: Donna Bird, 4-H agent, Utah County; Duane Hatch, horticulturist, Salt Lake County; and Scott S. McKendrick, associate state 4-H leader, USU; Early Career Achievement: Steven Dewey, weeds specialist, USU; Mid-Career Achievement: Georgia Lauritzen, nutrition specialist, USU.

Extension Specialists Association - Outstanding Specialist: Ronald J. Daines, information specialist, USU; Outstanding New Specialist: Barbara R. Rowe, family resource management specialist, USU; Innovative Specialist: Thomas R. Lee, family and human development specialist, USU.

College of Family Life - Extension Specialist of the Year: Thomas R. Lee; Extension Home Economist of the Year: Mary Lois Madsen, agent, Sanpete County.

The Utah Association of Extension Home Economists - Continued Excellence Award: Miriam Limb, agent, Beaver County; Distinguished Service Award: Mary Lois Madsen.

The Utah Home Economist Association - Outstanding Extension Home Economist: Josephine Clark, agent, Morgan County; Outstanding Young Home Economist: Kay Evans, nutrition agent, Weber County.

The National Association of 4-H Workers Distinguished Service Award: Faye P. Boyer, agent, Summit County.

The National Association of County Agricultural Agents - Distinguished Service Award: Joseph Wells Austin, Southwest District Supervisor, Richfield; Achievement Award: Shawn Olsen, agent, Davis County; Search for Excellence Award: Larry Sagers, ornamental horticulturist, Salt Lake County; 4-H Career Guidance Program Regional Runner-up: Heather Rainey, 4-H and livestock agent, Salt Lake County.

Utah Association of County Agricultural Agents - ChemLawn Service Corp. Environmental Protection Program: Shawn Olsen, Western regional winner; LESCO Horticulture Communication Program: Shawn Olsen, Western regional winner, category 3; Larry Sagers, Western regional runner-up, category 4; PRIDE Public Relations Program: James Barnhill, agricultural agent, Weber County, state winner.

RJR Nabisco Public Information Program State Winners: Larry Sagers, radio and news; Shawn Olsen, direct mail; Duane Hatch, personal column and video/TV; James Keyes, agent, San Juan County, feature story and newsletter.