Five more Utah counties have qualified for special tax credits to help their sluggish economies, according to aides to Gov. Norm Bangerter.

Wasatch, Sanpete, Wayne, San Juan and Millard counties will join five other rural counties as enterprise zones under a plan approved by lawmakers during the last legislative session. The other five, Carbon, Grand, Juab, Beaver and Garfield counties, were designated earlier this year.Under the plan, new companies and existing ones that generate new jobs will qualify for tax credits for each employee and for investment in plants, land and equipment.

To qualify, counties must meet two of three requirements: an unemployment rate 11/2 times the state average, per-capita income 80 percent of the state average or less and population declines for three consecutive years.