J. D. Williams, University of Utah professor of political science, was named one of 10 gold medalists in a national program to select a professor of the year. The award is given by the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education, a national organization of edcuation professionals in fund-raising, alumni affairs and public relations. More than 500 professors were nominated, and a Clarement McKenna College philosophy professor, John K. Roth, was selected as the 1988 winner.