The Utah chapter of the International Association of Assessing Officers has elected new officers for the coming year and recognized several tax officials throughout the state.Wendy E. Rice was elected president; Anne Dunyon, vice president; Bruce Christensen, secretary; and Bert Smith, treasurer. Tim Noyce was elected chairman, and the new directors will be Tom Simkins, Brent C. Overson, Cheryl Madsen, Kal Rogers and Ed McAllister. Dave Vanier was appointed state representative to the international office.

Honored as "Property Tax Administrator of the Year" was Clyde R. Nichols, executive director of the State Tax Commission; "Assessor of the Year" went to Garfield County Assessor Tom Simkins; "Most Valuable Member" was State Tax Commission supervisor Steve Farrell; "Outstanding Appraiser" was Milt Mayhew of the Washington County Assessor's office; "Outstanding Assessment Specialist" went to Bette Anderson of the Weber County Assessor's office; and the "Outstanding Service to Property Tax Administration" award was given to Fred Halverson, president of The Multi-County Appraisal Trust.